Chapter 2.30 – Coffee Shop Meet ‘N Greet

06-30-18_4-27-49 PM.pngCole’s phone buzzed during a routine exam, indicating he had just received a text message.  

06-30-18_4-32-40 PM.pngAs soon as he was finished with his current 4 legged patient, he sat down at the desk and slipped his phone out of his pocket.  Dannie….she had been checking up on him daily since Laney left three weeks ago.

“Call me” was all that was in the text.

06-30-18_4-34-17 PM.pngCole smiled in spite of his depressed mood and dialed his friend.

“Hey Blue-eyes…how you hanging?”  said Dannie cheerfully, picking up on the first ring.

“Okay,” he said without any enthusiasm.

“Isn’t it almost time for your shift to be over?” she asked.

06-30-18_4-42-41 PM“Yes. So I can go home – alone.” He knew he was whining but he didn’t care.

“Well…how about some company? Ryker’s out of town visiting his grandparents, so I thought we could grab a coffee. Why don’t I meet you there when you’re done.”

He enjoyed Dannie’s company. She always made him laugh. He missed hanging out with her since she and Ryker had been back together.  “Sure, that sounds good. Thanks Dannie.”

06-30-18_5-21-16 PMCole left the clinic for the short walk over to the coffee bar. As he walked he thought about Dannie.  She had been such a great friend to him.  She knew he was a wreck after Laney left and had made it her mission to make sure he was okay.  Ryker was lucky to have someone so caring and giving. He hoped the dumb jock realized it.

06-30-18_7-18-18 PM.pngHe opened the door and saw that Dannie was already there.  When she saw him, her face lit up, which in turn, made him smile too. 

“Hi!” he said when he got to the table.

06-30-18_7-30-22 PM.pngDannie stood up and kissed him on the cheek.  He felt warmed by the show of affection.  

“Thanks for calling,” he said as he sat down, “I really appreciate the company, I know Ryker is keeping you pretty busy.”

“Yes. We have been busy trying to get things organized for when college starts,” she said.

06-30-18_7-36-07 PM.pngOnce seated, he noticed a cup was waiting for him. He pointed at it and grinned at Dannie. “For me?”

“I got here early, so I went on and ordered for you since you always get the same thing. I hope it’s okay,” she said. 

Cole gave her a pained smile. “Maybe that’s my problem….too predictable,” he said sadly.

06-30-18_7-45-04 PM.png“There’s nothing wrong with that Cole. Some of us like predictability. You know what you want. So what?” she said with a shrug of her shoulders.

“I guess,” he said and sighed. “Have you figured out where you going to live in San Myshuno yet?” 

06-30-18_7-48-28 PM.png“Maybe…Ryker’s scholarship includes housing. There is a dorm on campus that is covered by the scholarship. He wanted me to live there with him, but there was a catch.  Another guy would be living there too. It was a two bedroom, but they share a bathroom. Total. Deal. Breaker.  So, he is going to get an efficiency apartment just off campus and we will have to pay the difference.”

“Can’t you just live with you Aunt?” asked Cole.

“Ryker doesn’t want me to. He still wants to get married.”

06-30-18_7-53-50 PM.png“I thought he backed off.”

“We compromised. I agreed to move in, and then, after college, I would consider marriage ”

“Dude loves you, I guess.”

“He does.  And I love him too…..I’m just not ready for marriage yet.”

06-30-18_7-51-01 PM.png“Then why move in?” asked Cole, confused by her decision.

Dannie sighed. “He said he doesn’t want to lose me again. Cole, he’s been really sweet.”

Cole frowned. “What about what you want Dannie?”

06-30-18_7-56-39 PM.png“I don’t need much. I’m going to take some writing classes. So, I can just pull up a desk and work no matter where I am……and, it will be nice to see him every day.”

“Did Nicky tell you she decided on Brindleton Bay University? I think, since I’m going there, she checked it out, figuring she would know at least one person. Plus, they have a great art program.  Actually, I’m glad she’s going there too. It will be nice to know there is a familiar face to hang with. The veterinary college isn’t on the same campus as the art school, so we’ll just have to make it a point to meet for lunch or something.”

07-01-18_5-02-37 PM.png“Yes,” said Dannie, “She’s super excited about it…” Dannie paused and looked towards the door and laughed. “Speak of the devil, here she is now. And that good looking cowboy with her must be Mickey.”

Cole whipped his head around. She was excited about seeing Mickey so he wasn’t surprised to see them together, he just didn’t know he was already in town.

07-01-18_6-43-29 PM.png“Hi guys!” said Dannie waving at them. Then she directed her attention to Cole and lowered her voice. “Mickey really is handsome,” she said.

Cole groaned. “You too? Does that guy walk on water or something?”

Dannie laughed.  “You’re jealous! Do you still like Nicky?”

“NO! I mean, yes, I like her, but I don’t like her, like her.” Dannie’s tinkly laugh made Cole laugh, that was, until he heard the deep voice behind him.

07-01-18_5-15-37 PM.png“Murdock! How’s it going?” boomed Mickey. His presence dominated the space they were in, intimidating Cole. Maybe it was the cowboy hat he wore. He didn’t know exactly what it was about him that rubbed him wrong.

“Fine,” said Cole and smiled, but the smile didn’t reach his eyes.

07-01-18_5-10-57 PM.pngNicky spoke up since it was obvious Cole wasn’t going to introduce him to Dannie. “Mickey, this is Dannie Stevens, my good friend that I told you about. Dannie, Mickey Blake.”

Cole frowned when Dannie smiled sweetly at him. “Hi! Nice to finally meet the mystery man Nicky’s been talking about non-stop.”

Nicky’s face turned almost as red as her hair.

“Would you two like to join us?” asked Dannie. Cole shot her a look not believing she was inviting them to sit down.

07-01-18_7-00-59 PM.png“Thanks,” said Mickey, “but we can’t stay long. We are headed to the Casbah Art Gallery.”

Dannie’s eyebrows shot up and she grinned at Nicky, who still looked completely embarrassed.  “That sounds fun,” said Dannie, “Maybe when Ryker gets back we can all get together.”

07-01-18_7-07-39 PM.pngMickey laughed. “Sounds good. Nicky, why don’t you sit down and visit with your friends, I’ll get our drinks.”

Cole got up and pulled a couple chairs over to their table.  “Cole, guess what?” asked Nicky as soon as she was seated. 

07-01-18_7-14-29 PM.pngCole arched an eyebrow and cocked his head, waiting for her to tell him what was on her mind.

“Mickey is going to Brindleton Bay University in the fall!” she said excitedly, “He is a Business major and is planning to minor in criminal justice. Isn’t that great?”

07-01-18_7-17-20 PM.png“Awesome,” said Cole, and rolled his eyes. Fucking awesome, he thought, his good mood flying out the window.  He felt kinda bad when Nicky’s smile seemed forced.

“Nicky, that’s fabulous!” said Dannie obviously picking up on his lack of enthusiasm. 

Mickey walked back over, coffees in hand. He sat Nicky’s down in front of her and lowered himself into the empty chair.

07-01-18_6-23-23 PM“Mickey, Nicky told us you are going to Brindleton Bay University. Cole is going to their veterinary college.  You three should room together!” said Dannie excitedly, probably to pay him back for hurting Nicky’s feelings.

A chorus of ‘No’s sounded at the table and she laughed. “Well, alrighty then, it was just a thought.”

“I’m living in campus housing near the veterinary college. It’s all setup. I have a roommate already assigned,” explained Cole, a little embarrassed.

07-01-18_7-21-51 PM.png“I’ll plan to live in a dorm,” said Nicky, “I’ve already applied.”

07-01-18_7-26-17 PM.png“My Dad already bought me a little piece of land out there. So it looks like it’s already worked out,” said Mickey, “You ready to go Nicky?”

“Yes,” she said looking at Mickey, then she glanced at Cole and Dannie.  “See you guys later.” 

07-01-18_7-33-50 PM.pngMickey stood up. See you around Murdock,” he said and clapped him on the back. Then he turned to Dannie and tipped his hat. “It was nice to meet ya.”

Dannie looked curiously at Cole as they walked off. “He’s so polite. You didn’t need to be so rude. You barely said two words to him,” she scolded, “Clearly, Nicky is taken with him. I can certainly see why.”

07-01-18_7-49-20 PM.pngCole’s good mood was tanked. “You don’t know him Dannie. He’s a privileged ass. You heard him. His Daddy already hooked him up with a “little piece of land.” It’s probably a 6 bedroom home with a pool and a pool house on 2 fucking acres.’

07-01-18_7-49-51 PM“Whoa….you don’t like him. What did he ever do to you? Spit in your cheerios? And, anyway, I am sure you’re exaggerating. He seemed quite charming to me,” replied Dannie.

07-01-18_7-54-48 PM.png“No. Bet me, it’s no little piece of land. And his charm is what I’m worried about. Yes, Nicky’s clearly falling for it, hook, line and sinker. He’s too fast and smooth for her. He will hurt her. And now, I have to put up with seeing him at school too. Great.

07-01-18_7-56-42 PM.png“I’m not so sure he’s out to take advantage of her Cole. He looked at her like he really likes her. The same way you looked at Laney,” she added softly.

“He better not hurt her. He’ll wish he had never come back to Willow Creek,” said Cole still seething.

“Cole. You need to let it go. Nicky’s a big girl now.”

07-01-18_8-02-58 PM.png“I had to let Laney go. I’m gonna watch out for Nicky. Same as she did for me.”

Dannie sighed deeply. “Come on, let’s go do something fun. I know, the game room!”

07-01-18_8-08-06 PM.png“Okay Mia,” said Cole sarcastically, but couldn’t help but smile.  This was the second time since the Mia debacle that he had called her that. 

07-01-18_7-57-10 PM.png“Puleese. I’m taken – and besides – I’d have a much better approach than a fake twisted ankle! You just need to have fun.”

07-01-18_8-26-18 PM“Fine. Let’s go,” said Cole and laughed. They stood up to walk out and Cole playfully threw his arm around her.  “Winner at foosball buys dinner.  Got any cash on you?”

“I won’t need any…Ryker and I have been practicing,” replied Dannie as she rubbed her hands together fiendishly.

07-01-18_8-24-18 PMThe mention of Ryker’s name caused heat to rush to his face, but he quickly put it aside, not wanting Ryker to spoil his mood. “Nope, you’re going down…..”

Go to Chapter 2.31>>>>>>

Go Back To Chapter 2.29>>>>>>

A/N:  As you may or may not know, Mickey Blake is a character in Lonestar’s “The Hourglass”.  The two stories are now on the same time line.  His chapter, posted today, has more of the interaction between Nicky and Mickey…as well as other shenanigans that Mickey and his gang are up to. 

Hat tips1

ALSO:  I created the hat tipping poses for Mickey and his cowboy hat.  Being a Texan myself, it’s just one of those things you do. So I HAD to have them. The poses are shown to the left and can be downloaded from SimsFileShare here.  I hope you like them. 

I actually have a few other poses I need to get cleaned up (Pinky Swears 🙂 ) and will eventually create a page on my blog for them. 

64 thoughts on “Chapter 2.30 – Coffee Shop Meet ‘N Greet

  1. Ahah those poses are perfect! You’re really shining with them time after time. 😉 I’d definitely peg Mickey as a criminal justice major first, just by looks (tell Lonestar that I’m behiiiiiiind). At my college it had a lot of kids from Western Mass, the closest we have to the untamed wild west. 😛

    Dannie turns out to be more honest than a fake twisted ankle AND bringing the first hunky cowboy you found to a meetup. Unless she knows a hotter guy than Ryker of course.

    Liked by 5 people

    • Awww. Thank you for the pose love.❤️❤️ definitely finding it easier. Practice, practice.

      Yes. Mickey certainly sends off those vibes. Don’t mess with me. Walker Texas Ranger comes to mind! Ha. Yes. Dannie Is much more honest than Mia.

      Liked by 2 people

  2. Look at that. I hope Mickey is bad news. A charming bad guy? What’s not to like? We need some nice black clouds in the sky.
    Danni may be more honest than a twisted ankle, but she has her eyes on Cole, that is clear. I wonder if Ryker is okay with them hanging out together, because it did sort of look like a date. Even the cheek kissing doesn’t feel completely right. Mia could take pictures again…

    Liked by 5 people

    • You may have described Mickey pretty well…. 😈. Ryker probably wouldn’t like them hanging out together… 😮 … where is Mia when you need her to stir the pot! 😂😂😂 And get sweet revenge.

      Liked by 2 people

  3. Dannie and Cole are giving me strong Ben and Sofia vibes from back when she was with that dick… hanging out behind the boyfriend’s back, cheek kisses and obvious flirting… Just dump Ryker already, honey. Connie 4ever 😍😍😍

    *ahem*

    Mickey is certainly a charmer! Hopefully he’ll treat Nicky right… I have mixed feelings about them being at the same school as Cole. He still seems kind of jealous (despite his denial) and I hope he doesn’t try and meddle with Nicky’s relationship while they’re at school 😬

    Great chapter! So looking forward to the college years!

    Liked by 2 people

    • College years will be soon….it will be an interesting dynamic to see the three of them at the same college with no other family or friends around. There might be a budding relationship between Nicky and Mickey. The question is how will Cole deal with it. He does seem really jealous.

      As for Connie….well, maybe a little Ben/Sofia vibe when he came back home, but they are going in different directions. And she has committed to Ryker. I don’t think he is abusive, but not a deep thinker for sure. He wanted her to live with him and another guy. Really dude?

      Liked by 1 person

    • Haha! Yes, he’s not the kind of person that Nicky would likely want to be with. Of course if she doesn’t know what he really is, then, Cole might be right, he could easily steam roller over her. But then Cole doesn’t know what he has been up to either. He just has bad blood from when they were kids and Mickey’s comments and attitude at the coffee shop didn’t change his mind. It will be an interesting dynamic in college.

      Like

  4. Excellent poses, Auds!

    Man, does Dannie have ANY flaws, other than a possibly controlling boyfriend?? They sure are all over each other, she and Cole.

    Cole, leave Nicky alone; patronizing concern is insulting to her as a grown-ass person.

    Mickey; cut ur bangs, boi… dis is not a disco.

    Liked by 5 people

  5. Oh, so Mickey moved on after Emillia fairly quickly. I wonder who gets Nicky at last. Cole seems very protective of her. I always love how your stories tie together. I’ve gotten into the magic of pose-making just recently myself… Not uploading them, because I need to edit them and free them of horrible mistakes first. But what’s this with Dannie and Ryker? He seems a bit obsessive about marrying her and isn’t really considering her opinion.

    Liked by 2 people

    • I am glad you like the way the two stories are tying together. 🙂 It is a bit of a challenge.

      I think Ryker really does care for Dannie and because she broke up with him, he is a bit insecure. Perhaps she is trying to ease that. She does love him and wants it to work, but breaking up I think was her way of asserting herself more. So she is trying to meet him in the middle. But he definitely wouldn’t like that she is hanging out with Cole no matter how innocent.

      Pose making is so fun and so frustrating! But sometimes you just need that for your story! So you do it. I have made a bunch, but like you need to clean them up for general consumption before posting them. The hat tipping was easy enough mostly because it involved just one sim! 😂

      Liked by 1 person

      • I’m reading the new Hourglass chapter now.
        Yeah… We’ll see how that works out for them.
        I haven’t yet made a pose involving one Sim, however weird it may sound. First the poses for my freshly-posted bonus, I won’t tell what about, because it’d be spoilery, then I made breastfeeding poses and making out on the counter poses. And I’m only getting started. But yeah, I need to work on them more.

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Well believe it or not, I have been reading Hourglass. Going to catch up on it and Mickeys 30 million dollar Bank robbery via the computer. I kinda pegged him with the brilliant female mastermind. Funny I thought Cole and he were childhood friends. before he moved away. Loved the vet screenshots. Mickey is really really loaded especially after that heist. Not worried about Nicky because her values are rock solid, believing in no sex until after marriage. But Cole does not know that yet, just knows she dumped him and he thinks something is wrong with him. After Mia incident they barely got to friend mode. Wonder if Nicky is going to be honest with him finally? Nicky, Cole, and Mickey were part of the kid gang before Mickey moved away… Surprised that Cole does not seem to remember Mickey Blake. Thank you for your plot twist of interesting developments.

    Liked by 2 people

    • So, Cole does remember Mickey, but they didn’t really get along as kids. It’s a lot to take in I know between the two stories…

      Nicky actually did confess to Cole that evening in the park when they both realized it was Mia that had put the pictures on the Locker. He thought she may have wanted to get back with him, but he was no longer interested in a relationship with her beyond friends. But that is why he is being overprotective of her.. He doesn’t want Mickey to take advantage of her.

      Like

  7. Ohhh Mickey and Nicky? Uh oh…
    Dannie and Cole’s friendship has a bunch of mixed feelings. It’s really hard to be just friends when both parts are attracted to each other, so kudos to them.
    The college years will be very interesting…hehehe…

    Liked by 3 people

    • Dannie and Cole’s friendship does have a bunch of mixed feelings. I like the way you describe it. Being away from each other over college is probably a good thing. The college years will be interesting. Lot’s going on. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Nicky and Mickey… their names just go together. I read Hour Glass, too, and I like how your stories overlap. I agree with sigourneybarriere that Dannie and Cole’s relationship has a bunch of mixed feelings.

    Liked by 1 person

    • There may be a little more than just friendship but neither one is willing to explore it if it is there. Haswh said it reminded her of Emma and Ben, where they both were attracted to each other, but the timing was way off for anything to come to fruition for them. When Emma was ready Ben wasn’t and vice versa – I think Dannie and Cole aren’t even aware of the depth of their feelings for each other – beyond really good friends. CitizenErased called the M&N ship the SS Icky…. I couldn’t help but laugh. All I can say is he better be nice to our girl!

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Cole maybe beginning to be like the little rich boy that has every toy you can imagine when someone wants to play with that toy it becomes his favorite. Green eyed monster. I think he is a little attracted to all three girls and overprotective, also.
    Don’t worry Cole you cuter than Ryker and Mickey.

    Liked by 1 person

    • He might be attracted all three of them. Haha. Someone wants to play with that toy I have ignored, nope… it’s my favorite now! LOL…. That is the prefect way to describe how he is behaving. Never learned how to not have everyone love him.

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Pingback: Chapter 2.29 – The Last Day | New Beginnings

  11. Great chapter!! Hmm, Mickey… He does seem altogether too smooth!! And poor Cole, now that Laney’s gone, he’s got all these feelings brewing for the other women in his life!! Bless him, let’s hope he doesn’t do anything stupid to ruin any of those friendships!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • What, you think Cole would do something stupid! Lol. Someone else said he was like a spoiled little kid that didn’t care about a toy until someone else wanted to play with it. He needs to let them play. Right!

      Liked by 1 person

  12. Wonderful poses!! Love them!

    Hmmm…Cole is getting awfully worked up over the dashing Mickey (Mickey and Nicky! Lol!) Seems like he still has feelings!

    And dude…change out of your scrubs before you go out. You did not score cool points on that outdoor with doggie paws all over it. 🙄 Lol! Mickey wins in coolest guy….poor Cole! 😜

    Liked by 1 person

    • I know….he should have changed! He totally lost a ton of cool points! 😂😂😂 Poor Guy. If he can’t have her nobody can? Isn’t that how it is supposed to go?

      Maybe he does have some feelings, but it seems like he was not in sync with her when he could have maybe acted on it again and tried to rekindle. My
      Abe he was holding out for college and now Mickey 😈 has foiled his master plan….

      Thanks for pose love! ❤️ I figured if there was going to be a dashing cowboy in my story for awhile, he would be tipping his hat to all the ladies quite often and so I started with one and said heck, I need a variety. We have come a long way since pose babies….I am finally walking AND talking in whole sentences! 😂😂😂

      Liked by 1 person

  13. I’m so sorry I’m so late!! 😣 (These past two days have been crazy!)
    First of all, I need to read that other story “The Hourglass” – next binge read is gonna be it! 😉 And I need to know what this Mickey is all about..!
    I think Cole is feeling very lonely now that he let Laney go, so maybe that’s why he’s acting funny with Nicky. I wasn’t thrilled that Nicky and Mickey (I love that name combo btw 😂) are going at the same place as Cole, but maybe this will make things interesting 😉
    And oooh, is Cole starting to have feelings for his friend Dannie? 💕
    Can’t wait to read what’s next! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • You never have to apologize! Real life always takes front seat! I have been crazy this week too. So I understand. 🙂

      Cole is feeling Laney’s absence for sure. So yes, he is being a little weird about Nicky and her potential involvement with Mickey, someone he doesn’t really care for. So things will get interesting when we make it to college. Two more chapters and then we are college bound. 👏👏👏

      Cole may be starting to have some feelings for Dannie, but they will be separated soon and she is with Ryker….so nothing will happen there. ☹️ Really bad timing. Maybe those two should have gotten together instead of going back with their exes…😏

      Liked by 1 person

  14. After reading this, I’m wondering…Why did I hear Micky’s voice with a heavy ”cowboy” accent!?Curse you, preconceptous brain!XD…Micky and Nicky, sound good.They could be a music duo.Anyway, Mickey seems charming ( the poses were great!), and Cole surely is just feeling that he needs to protect Nicky, as her friend, AKA seeing danger were there is none.I hardly belive that Mickey is going to turn out to be a male version of Mia, or that Abusive boyfriend that Pia had…For now, I see no danger in him.
    It’s nice to see Dannie and Cole having a friendly talk, (having a non-romantic relationship is really good fo Cole), and I belive they most likely won’t end up together. ( unless something extreme happens, like, I dunno, Ryker dies.)

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s always so good to get your insight. Mickey looks like a cowboy so I can hear him talking like a cowboy! I think Cole is being an overprotective friend with raw nerves right now. The a,I key and Nicky show is just getting started. He certainly won’t be abusive or Mia-ish. He’s just a nice guy with maybe a little money to toss around. I’m glad you liked the poses.

      Cole needs a non romantic relationship while he heals from losing Laney. She and Ryker area thing so . . . maybe he will get hit by a truck! Lol.

      Liked by 1 person

  15. I just get the feeling that there is MUCH more to Dannies feelings for Cole than she is letting on .. but it is confusing that she seems so taken with Ryker too .. guess we have to ride this one out to see LOL .. BTW love the poses!! Excited to drop them in game and see what I can make of them

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Pingback: Chapter 2.31 – Cole vs Mickey | New Beginnings

  17. Uh Oh.
    Where do all these girls find their boys… Mickey and Ryker both look like bad news already :/
    Also Cole looks like he really has a tendency to like multiple strings to his bow xD

    Liked by 1 person

  18. Rooming with a COUPLE? No way, that would be intentional third-wheeling ALL the time! 😂
    This time, I’m completely with Cole. Mickey is so smooth which can of course be amazing but it doesn’t feel right for Nicky. She needs someone more straight forward and I’m tempted to say honest but that would be very wrong wording. Smooth and charming doesn’t mean dishonest and us women do enjoy a little charme from time to time after all 😏

    Liked by 1 person

  19. Dannie needs to totally dump Ryker and hook up with Cole. They are really great together and very comfortable with each other. Ryker just seems like a total ass – very controlling and demanding. Not good.

    Nicky seems to be smitten with Mickey. Hmmm…Nicky and Mickey. Haha. 🤣🤣 Cole sure isn’t happy about the guy being back in town or hanging out with Nicky. I think he’s a bit jealous, and I guess that bad blood between them ran deep. This is going to put a rather interesting dynamic on things now.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, she and Cole would be good together, but I fear she’s firmly in the friend zone. Ryker is demanding and entitled.

      Nicky does seem happy with Mickey. Cole just does not like him though. Probably a little jealous. But he wants to repay her kindness to him and make sure Mickey doesn’t hurt her.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.